Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A stylist, model and with work that includes behind-the-scenes tasks during fashion events, Elysa Qunitella is a another Sacramento State hornet featured in this blog due to her talent and drive! Elysa and I have actually known each other since high school and I have seen throughout the years her dedications to her commitments and unwillingness to give up on herself. She has a lot to offer to the fashion industry and I am personally excited to continue to watch her grow.
citygirl10

SSBG: At what point did you realize that you wanted to pursue a career in fashion?

Elysa Quintella: I feel like I’ve been surrounded by fashion my entire life. Like many little girls, I would spend hours playing dress-up in my mom and grandma’s closets. By the time I was in middle school, I discovered I still enjoyed playing around with clothes and putting together different looks. However, it wasn’t until junior year in high school that I definitely knew I wanted to pursue a career in fashion; I just didn’t know what. Initially, I considered being a buyer. But after exploring different fields in the industry, I decided that I wanted to pursue styling.

With all the different roles you’ve done with fashion (styling, modeling, coordinating shows, etc.) which is your favorite?

That’s a tough one! I obviously enjoy them all; but at the moment, I would have to say modeling is my favorite. Being the girly-girl that I am, I love getting glammed up for a show or a photoshoot. The prep is always a fun process!

What do you like most about modeling? Do you think it’s harder than what people perceive it to be?

The thing I like most about modeling is getting to work with new people. Although I haven’t been modeling for that long, I’ve already met and learned from so many amazing and talented people in the industry. It’s a great way to network. I definitely think people underestimate how much work and effort goes into modeling – it’s so much more than being a pretty face, or being tall and thin, as many assume. I’m naturally a reserved person, so there have been times when it’s been hard because I’ve had to be pushed outside of my comfort zone, but it’s so worth it to see the end result.

When it comes to styling do you try to stay with the trends, stick to classic looks or something in between?

Something in between. As a stylist (and even for my own personal style), I find that I look for balance. While I naturally gravitate towards more classic and sophisticated looks, I do like to mix classy with trendy sometimes. I like the juxtaposition; it’s like timelessness with an edge.

Is there anything you haven’t done in the world of fashion that you hope to try soon?

Since I’m still fairly new to the fashion industry, there are a lot of things that I have yet to do, but the one thing that I would absolutely love to do is wardrobe styling for a TV show. So, that’s definitely something I’m working towards.

