Tags

, , , , , , ,

When I first met Raven Jade, she and her boyfriend (Spatterbeast Art— a fellow artist) were vending at a convention show in Sacramento.  I was advised by my designer friend Carlyfornia to check their work out– because not only were they extremely talented but because they are incredibly nice!  I was blown away by their kindness and as I frequent conventions and passed by Raven’s table I always managed to buy myself a piece of jewelry.  For those interested, her Etsy is here:

 http://www.etsy.com/shop/CreationsByRavenJade?ref=si_shop

SSBG: What first got you interested in making jewelry?

Rave Jade – Jewelry Designer: I’ve been sewing and crafting since I was a child. At 18 I ended up working at a fabric store for four years which made me more intrigued with making jewelry. Surprisingly it came as a second nature to me.

When did you decide to add in the non-traditional materials into your pieces?

Almost instantly. Unconventional supplies are my fuel. I love making something out of nothing. I look at dead leaves on the ground, acorns at a graveyard, dead insects, or random bird feathers and see their potential. I let nothing go to waste.

What are your current favorite jewelry pieces to make?

Right now I’m addicted to body chains. They are so fun to make and easy to wear. I also love to make and embellish hats and neck pieces.

What materials do you hope to use for jewelry in the future that you’ve haven’t used before?

I’ve been eyeing metal work and soldering lately. I also want to learn to arm knit, use resin, and learn new techniques to excel in my pieces.

Where do you get your inspiration for your jewelry pieces?

Mostly from nature itself. I only use bones and taxidermy pieces from animals that died from natural causes. My grandparents own a cabin in the forest and it’s a great place to clear my mind and take in how beautiful the world is. I also like to collaborate with friends.

What has been your greatest accomplishment so far as a jewelry designer?

The whole experience itself has been a great accomplishment. I make things I would wear and it’s so amazing that people share my vision and would wear my pieces. My friends and family have been a huge support system as well. They are always keeping an eye out for supplies for me. Even my grandma wears my jewelry to church! I’m lucky to have such great people in my life.

