Tags

, , , , ,

With an eye for color and flattering silhouettes, local Sacramento designer Maisha Bahati knows the desires of women when it comes to fashion and apparel.  When I was first introduced to her designs, I was blown away by the boldness of her dresses and how they are perfect for those wanting to look and feel confident as well as beautiful.

Recently, I have had the pleasure of doing a small interview with the designer about her art– I was a bit nervous, considering I have never really done an interview like this before!  But I honestly am both excited and blessed to know individuals such as Bahati and William G. who are prominent in the local community– their drive and passion inspires me to keep pushing forward my fashion dreams and thus proving the Sacramento is rich in fashion and full of potential and positive energy.

Reading Bahati‘s small biography on her website, I have become curious about a few things that I knew would be perfect questions to ask her in a Q&A for my blog…

Q: Fashion can be difficult because the designer themselves are to create for the customers’ wants while still keeping to their own vision– do you find it hard maintaining that balance between creating designs that are true to you as well as creating designs that appeal to potential customers?

You know, I struggled with this very thing, when I started designing, but I came to realize that if you don’t believe 500% percent in your product than no one else will. Also, it is impossible to please everyone, so the best thing you can do is create and market what you believe in and stand behind. Many times customers will be interested by just your confidence behind your product.

Q: Fashion itself in incredibly interesting– did you always know that you wanted to go into fashion design? Did you play with other expressive mediums (painting, theatre, music, etc.) before diving into the fashion world as a designer? And what is it about fashion that makes you want to pursue it?

I knew I enjoyed the creativity of fashion, however I didn’t play with the idea of fashion designing until I was 26 years old. I always enjoyed art and drawing so I’m sure that had a lot to do with my love of fashion. Overall what excites me most about fashion is the ability to express yourself and that others enjoy it.

Q: What advice would you give someone reading this right now who wishes to pursue a career in the fashion industry– especially aspiring designers?

My advice would be to believe in yourself and your product. It sounds cheesy but it’s so true! One thing I do is wear my designs when I go out. I feel like I’m my best salesperson. I get a lot of women interested in my pieces because they see how confident I am while wearing them. You just have to believe, work really hard, be humble, listen and have fun. 

