Tags

, , , , , , , ,

yaya

Please right click this photo and open it in a new window/tab to view it as a larger picture!

My cosplay is featured in a published book called 1,000 Incredible Costume and Cosplay Ideas!

Babydoll from Sucker Punch was my most ‘well-known’ cosplay in the community– a collaboration of my mother and I, we made this costume for SacAnime Summer 2011!  Two years ago!  But everyone loved me in it– I felt like a Disney Princess with a katana the way people were awing at me and wanting to take pictures with me!

Yaya Han is a co-author of this book with authors who wrote 1,000 Steampunk Creations: Neo-Victorian Fashion, Gear, and Art.  I am a fan of all their works and am honored to be featured with such majestic and wonderful cosplayers!  I really am proud of my Babydoll and hope to continue to grow as a cosplayer.

Did I mention I saw Yaya Han at Fanime, too?  I guess you can already tell from the picture above (edited picture to try and make it less blurry– she’s gorgeous, regardless!).  I had tons of fun at the convention this past Saturday, but I’ll blog more about it at another time!  Yaya was just as sweet as the first time I met her at SacAnime a few years back ❤

I want to give a special thanks to Hikaru Kazushime of Run:Around Network for being one of my very first cosplay photographers!  I wouldn’t be where I am now if it wasn’t for your encouragement and passion for the community and art.  Being in this book just validates that I am meant to sew and create– it’s not about trying to be some celebrity cosplayer or model or whatever.  It’s makes me feel really proud to be able to cosplay a character well despite not exactly looking like her.

