[Facebook | LinkedIn | Twitter | Artsy Apparel]

los

(Photography: Mike Pellat of Point.Click.Studios)

Sometimes I have little bouts of low self-esteem– I’m not pretty enough.  Or I’m not tall enough.  I’m not skinny enough.  I could be doing better at school.  At work.  In social situations. Etc. etc. etc.

But then you get over it– sometimes it happens naturally on its own while other times you have to force yourself to get over it.  Either way, time is a part of the mending process.

Well… that and being told you’ve made a magazine helps, too.

I initially submitted to Ladies of Steampunk with the purpose of having my own clothes published in a magazine– I like the Victorian aesthetic of the whole genre and thought it was worth a shot.  Plus, this is a local Sacramento publication– and I fully support my local artists of all genres.  I didn’t realize I was going to be a part of something bigger than my own seamstress ego– I was put into a magazine full of beautiful and talented women.

Ladies of Steampunk is more magical than I could have ever imagined.

Put together by a duo of gentlemen who are as kind as they are professional and talented with writing and photography, Ladies of Steampunk is a bi-monthly magazine based in Sacramento that everyone should check out– and not just for the steampunk fashion.  A collection of different mediums of art are within the pages of the magazine and I could tell you about the artwork and the writing and the feeling of opening the magazine for the first time– but in all honesty, it’s best if you experience the rush and thrill first hand.

So buy the March issue and oogle me here (previous issues are available, too).  And visit their website, Facebook and keep in mind that their mature steampunk magazine Bronze Age is available every other month (the months LoS aren’t being produced– so April is the month for BA!).

