“But she wears short skirts/She wears high heels,
I wear t-shirts/I wear sneakers,
She’s cheer captain,
And I’m on the bleachers….

Yeah… you know the rest…

I don’t what T. Swift is trying to imply about girls (like me) who wear skirts and heels rather than sneakers and t-shirts but it seems to have a very negative connotation.  It’s like, to her, girls who like fashion must automatically be superficial and boy-crazy (and I was cheer captain at one point–along with an honors student, theatre kid, art award(s) recipient an anime club member but none of that matters because apparently my shoes reflect the fact that I’m mean and nasty on the inside!).

Why can’t girls be fashionable, kind, well-rounded, etc?

I think we need some music that deals with fashion in a positive perspective…

Cake’s Short Skirt/Long Jacket (local Sacramento music loveee~!)

Light’s Boots

Prince’s Raspberry Beret

Gwen Stefani’s Harajuku Girls

[SacStyleByGina’s Facebook]

